Winter Competitions

The club opens one slightly undersized lawn during the latter part of the winter months, usually from mid-February until the main lawns open in April. During this time, the lawn may be used during the week for practice or friendly games, weather permitting. During this period we also run a series of one-day winter competitions at the weekends, which alternate between one-ball Association Croquet, and Golf Croquet. Places are limited to 8 people per day, so events are often fully booked. Members will be notified before the lawn opens, and given the opportunity to tell the organiser which events they would like to play in, and he will then allocate the places. If you later wish to play in an event you had not chosen, you should contact the manager for the day, who will be able to tell you if any places remain. Members should be aware that events may be cancelled at short notice if the lawns are too wet.

This year's Winter Croquet is being organised by Bernard Jones.

Events and managers for this season will be listed below as soon as they are known.

Winter Croquet 2018

Day Date AC/GC Manager Winner
Sat 24 Feb      AC  Annabel McDiarmid  Annabel McDiarmid
Sun 25 Feb GC      Colin Groves  Colin Groves
Sat 03 Mar GC      Nick Harvey  Cancelled (snow)
Sun 04 Mar      AC  Michael Hague  Cancelled (snow)
Sat 10 Mar      AC  Ian Anderson  Bernard Jones
Sun 11 Mar GC      Sara Anderson  Alan Edwards
Sat 17 Mar GC      David Mumford  Cancelled (snow)
Sun 18 Mar      AC  Bernard Jones  Cancelled (snow)
Sat 24 Mar      AC  Maggie Holland  Barry Huxley
Sun 25 Mar GC      Mike Town  Mike Town